3M Health Care Innovation Team Awards

Please note that the 3M Awards focus and eligibility criteria have been updated for the 2024 campaign.

The awards nomination campaign will launch on October 1, at which time the online nomination form and the nomination template will become available.

The Award

This award recognizes four important elements: disruptive innovation, cutting edge system transformation and outcomes, diverse population, and sustainability of change.

The winning team in each category will receive a certificate of recognition. Should we deliver an in-person event, one representative of the winning organization will also receive paid travel and accommodation to attend the awards presentation, and a complimentary registration to the CCHL National Conference. Both the College and 3M Canada will provide communications support for the awards.


Awards will be given in two categories:

  • Disruptive innovation initiative(s) within an organization: This category honours new innovative intervention(s) that disrupt our “normal” work to drive a different outcome focused on a major issue facing healthcare in Canada  resulting in fundamental and sustained change within a single site, or multi-site organization.
  • Disruptive innovation  initiative(s) across a health system: This category honours new innovation intervention(s) that disrupt our “normal” work to drive a different outcome  focussed on a major health system issue facing healthcare in Canada resulting in fundamental and sustained change  across the continuum of care, intersectoral work, between two or more organizations, service networks, and partners.

Administrative and operational teams including interdisciplinary teams, cross-functional teams across all sectors of healthcare are eligible to apply. A team must consist of a minimum of three people.


Nominations are due by February 1. Results-oriented projects that have created a significant, sustained change will be considered. Teams may submit one or several quality improvement projects. Teams may self-nominate.

Nominations must be submitted as one PDF file via the team and organization award online form and include the following:

  • a completed nomination form (to be completed online);
  • using the nomination template, please include:
    • an executive summary highlighting the reasons why the team should be considered for the award (The summary statement [the ‘Section A – Issue Statement’ from the award template] must be signed by the Chief Executive Officer. Electronic signatures are acceptable.); and
    • a written report, addressing all seven categories, and bullet points, outlined in the criteria.

Quality Improvement Initiative(s) Across a Health System

2023 Recipient: Nova Scotia Health

Nova Scotia Health is the recipient of the 3M Health Care Quality Team Award (Across a Health System)

Nova Scotians are facing challenges in accessing primary healthcare, including those without a primary care provider. However, the pandemic has led to the implementation of virtual and digital health solutions like VirtualCareNS, a unique virtual care service designed to meet low-acuity primary care needs. This service provides access to virtual and in-person follow-up, lab and diagnostic services, and specialists. It was implemented in record time (3 months) and has received overwhelmingly positive responses from users.

Quality Improvement Initiative(s) Within an Organization

2023 Recipient: St. Joseph’s Care Group

St. Joseph’s Care Group’s Hogarth Riverview Manor (HRM) is the recipient of the 3M Health Care Quality Team Award (Within an Organization).

Through the implementation of iCare, their operational excellence program, HRM was able to improve resident quality and safety outcomes, compliance, accountability, and staff experience. HRM emerged from the mandatory management order in 2021 and received two Leading Practice Awards from Health Standards Organization and was shortlisted for the 2022 Global Opex Award for Business Transformation Leader of the Year Award. 

Nova Scotia Health – Virtual CareNS

St. Joseph’s Care Group’s Hogarth Riverview Manor

Past Recipients

Please see our most recent recipients listed below. Full biography’s are available in our Celebrating Leading Practices booklets.

Quality Improvement Initiative(s) Across a Health System 

2023 – Nova Scotia Health – Learn more (video)
2022 – Island Health – Learn more (video)
2021 – Alberta Health Services’ Connect Care – Learn more (video)
2020 – Mackenzie Health – Learn more (video)
2019 – North York General Hospital – Learn more (video)
2018 – Trillium Health Partners and Saint Elizabeth Health Care – Learn more (video)
2017 – London Health Sciences Centre
2016 – Mississauga Halton LHIN 
2015 – Providence Health Care
2014 – Mount Sinai Hospital
2013 – Vancouver Coastal Health
2012 – North York General Hospital
2011 – St. Michael’s Hospital  

Quality Improvement Initiative(s) Within an Organization 

2023 – St. Joseph’s Care Group – Learn more (video)
2022 – Humber River Hospital – Learn more (video)
2021 – Nova Scotia Health’s Newcomer Health Clinic – Learn more (video)
2020 – Island Health – Learn more (video)
2019 – Providence Health Care – Learn more (video) 
2018 – Nova Scotia Health Authority – Learn more (video)
2017 – University Health Network
2016 – BC Cancer Agency and Provincial Health Services Authority
2015 – Nova Scotia Health Authority
2014 – Island Health
2013 – Capital Health, QEII Health Sciences Centre
2012 – Glenrose Rehabilitation Hospital, Alberta Health Services
2011 – Mississauga Halton Local Health Integration Network

3M Health Care Quality Team Awards Selection Committees

Selection Committee – Disruptive innovation initiative(s) across a health system

Selection Committee – Disruptive innovation initiative(s) within an organization

List of Awards

For almost two decades, the National Awards Program has been showcasing the success of exemplary individuals and teams, encouraging knowledge exchange, and celebrating excellence while stimulating replication of leading practices across the health industry.