CCHL Distinguished Leadership Award

Please note that the awards nomination campaign will launch on October 1, at which time the online nomination form and the nomination template will become available.

The Award

The CCHL Distinguished Leadership Award is the College’s premier award to recognize leadership.  It honours a College member in good standing in Canada, a passionate and visionary leader who has demonstrated core values of exemplary commitment, dedication and success in building leadership capacity and bettering the lives of others throughout their career path and ongoing journey in the Canadian Healthcare system.

The successful nominee will be:

  • A senior leader who demonstrates a philosophy and commitment to lifelong learning and the growth of emerging leaders
  • Recognized by their peer community for their passion for health leadership; and
  • Has made transformative impact and lasting contributions to their communities, organizations, and/or individuals across the continuum of care.

The winner will receive:

  • A lifetime membership in the College
  • An etched glass trophy
  • Paid travel and accommodations to attend the College’s Honouring Health Leadership event, and a complimentary registration to the CCHL National Conference.


To be considered for this award, the nominees must hold, or have recently held, a senior leadership position within a private sector corporation, a public sector health organization (academic, care delivery institution, association, or regulatory), or provincial and regional health authority. College members in good standing in Canada are eligible. A CHE or FCCHL designation is preferred.


Nominations will be accepted exclusively from the College’s past chairs of the Board of Directors; current Board of Directors; College Fellows; lifetime members; Chapter Chairs and past recipients of the CCHL Distinguished Leadership Award, the College Award for Distinguished Service, and the College Honourary Life Membership Award. The recipient will be selected by the Executive Committee of the College’s Board of Directors. The award sponsor will join the selection panel as an ex-officio participant.

Sponsored by:

GE Healthcare

2023 Recipient: John Borody, MBA, FCCHL

John Borody, a CHE and Fellow of the College, has had a distinguished career as a Healthcare Leader. He has proven to be a strong Executive Leader with demonstrated strengths in many areas. He possesses strong interpersonal skills, is an assertive communicator and is highly respected by his superiors, peers and subordinates alike.  

John has served in many senior capacities in the not-for-profit health sector in Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba. He severed as Executive Director of Addictions Foundation of Manitoba for 12 years and as Marketing Director for Accreditation Canada for two years in Kuwait.  

He has contributed on many industry organizations including QNET, Accreditation Canada, and CCHL, as well as non-sector community organizations. He has been a presenter at seminars and workshops on various topics throughout the years. Nationally, John has played a pivotal role serving twice on the CCHL National Board, where he served as Chair of the CCHL Fellows Council and Chair of the CCHL Professional Standards Committee. He has been and is a long-time member of his local chapter assuming leadership roles in education, conference planning, long-term care, mentorship and leadership. John was Chair of the CCHL’s Board of Directors from 2008 to 2010.

Past Recipients

Please see our most recent recipients listed below. Full details are available in our Celebrating Leading Practices booklets.

2023 – John Borody, MBA, FCCHL

2022 – Neil Fraser

2021 – Ron Noble FCCHL FACHE

2020 – Graham Dickson

2019 – John King CHE

2018 – Dianne Doyle FCCHL

The Distinguished Leadership Award was introduced for the first time during the 2018 National Awards campaign. This new award combines the best aspects of two previous awards – the College Award for Distinguished Service and the College Honourary Life Member Award – to create a recognition that will showcase an outstanding senior leader for their contributions to the health system, and to the College.

Past College Award for Distinguished Services Recipients

2017 – David Weger
2016 – Alice Kennedy FCCHL
2015 – Donna Towers CHE
2014 – Mark Neskar CHE
2013 – Maura Davies FCCHL
2012 – Don Desjardins
2011 – Bonnie Adamson FCCHL
2010 – Elma Heidemann FCCHL
2009 – Major-général Mathieu CHE (ret’d)
2008 – Robert Zed CHE, FACHE
2007 – Ron Noble FCCHL FACHE
2006 – Louise Cherry CHE
2005 – Tony Dagnone FCCHL
2004 – Garth Pierce FCCHSE
2003 – Joseph Mapa FCCHL
2002 – Kenneth Ezeard CHE
2001 – Jean Bartkowiak CHE, AdmA
1999 – Peter Peters
1996 – Miriam Lowi-Young FCCHL, FACHE
1995 – A Bailey
1994 – Lorna Romilly CHE
1992 – Harvey Fox FCCHSE

Past College Honourary Life Member Recipients

2017 – Pat Coish-Snow CHE
2016 – Mark Neskar CHE
2015 – Bonnie Adamson FCCHL
2014 – Elma Heidemann FCCHL
2013 – John King CHE
2012 – Robert Smith FCCHL
2011 – Clifford Nordal FCCHSE, FACHE
2010 – Kenneth Ezeard CHE
2009 – Garth Pierce FCCHSE
2008 – Tony Dagnone FCCHL

List of Awards

For almost two decades, the National Awards Program has been showcasing the success of exemplary individuals and teams, encouraging knowledge exchange, and celebrating excellence while stimulating replication of leading practices across the health industry.