Nursing Leadership Award

Please note that the awards nomination campaign will launch on October 1, at which time the online nomination form and the nomination template (Section A and B) will become available.

The Award

The Nursing Leadership Award builds on the themes of patient centered care and leadership, and honours those who demonstrate an ongoing commitment to excellence in these areas. The winner will receive an etched glass trophy. Should the future permit us to return to an in-person event, the recipient will also receive paid travel and accommodations to attend the College’s Honouring Health Leadership event, and a complimentary registration to the CCHL National Conference.


This award is open to College members and non-members alike. To be considered for this award, nominees must:

  • be a nurse employed at the director or vice-president level who has demonstrated an ongoing commitment to quality and leadership in nursing;
  • seek to advance nursing at every level, remove barriers between providers and build systems of quality care for patients;
  • have demonstrated measurable improvements in the programs that they have delivered within their organization; and
  • have made an impact outside of their organization.


Nominations must be made by a member of the College.

We are asking nominators to submit their nomination in two sections. Section A, which is to be submitted by November 30, is a 250 word summary. The summary should touch on the eligibility criteria and illustrate why you feel that the nominee should win this award. The summaries will be reviewed by the selection committee and a short list of top contenders will be formed. Those on the shortlist will be asked to complete Section B of the nomination. This section is due on February 1.

Sponsored by:


2022 Recipient: Sean Chilton

Sean Chilton

Sean Chilton is a truly creative leader with a wide range of clinical, operational, corporate and strategic leadership experiences. His track-record reflects his ability to inspire and shape interdisciplinary healthcare teams while creating sustainable, positive working relationships with diverse stakeholders, both inside and outside the health sector.

His healthcare career started as a Registered Nurse and spans more than 35 years. His education and experience in nursing has allowed him to be successful in leadership roles across many distinct and unique portfolios. He is the executive sponsor for AHS’s Patient First and People strategies as well as for Connect Care, a new $1.4B Clinical Information System.

His influence beyond AHS is evidenced by the strong community relationships he’s forged with a focus on Health Advisory Councils, patient and family advisors, regulatory bodies, post-secondary institutions, elected officials and Indigenous leaders.

Past Recipients

Please see our most recent recipients listed below. Full details are available in our Celebrating Leading Practices booklets.

2022 – Sean Chilton

2021 – Deb Gordon CHE

2020 – Sharon Goodwin

2019 – Vanessa Burkoski

2018 – Candy Garossino

2017 – Fiona Karmali

2016 – Scott Robertson

2015 – Sandra Lauck

2014 – Patricia O’Connor FCCHL

2013 – Doris Grinspun

2012 – Theresa Fillatre CHE

2011 – Lucie Tremblay AdmA, CHE

Nursing Leadership Award Selection Committee

List of Awards

For almost two decades, the National Awards Program has been showcasing the success of exemplary individuals and teams, encouraging knowledge exchange, and celebrating excellence while stimulating replication of leading practices across the health industry.