Mentorship Award

This award is presented to a leader in the healthcare system who demonstrates exemplary, sustained commitment to mentoring, and inspiring healthcare leadership.

The call for nominations for this award closed on November 30. Shortlisted candidates will be contacted to submit Section B of the nomination form by February 1.

Click here for the complete list of awards and deadlines. 

Selection Committee


Sponsored by:


2019 Recipient: David Thompson, CHE 

David has over 20 years of experience in various leadership roles in the B.C. health system. He has held many leadership roles both with Fraser Health and Providence Health Care including Residential Care, Health Information Systems and Quality Improvement. He is passionate about developing others through mentorship, and continually goes above and beyond the responsibilities of his position in order to do so. David is leaving a true legacy with the countless young talent he has mentored.

"David’s mentorship philosophy is to help individuals realize their innate potential no matter at what stage they are" stated Jessica Doonan, RN BSN MHA(c), current mentee of David Thompson. "A mentor that is gifted with the ability to see the strengths and potentials of their mentees and to develop that within them is deserving of acknowledgment".

David is actively involved with the College. He recently held the position of British Columbia Director on the College Board from 2012 to 2018 and has participated in various other committees.

Click here for the full article


Past Recipients

Please see our past recipients listed below. Full biography's are available in our Celebrating Leading Practices booklets.

2018, Andrew Neuner CHE

2017, Katherine Chubbs CHE

2016, Wolfgang Klassen CHE

2015, Ron Noble FCCHL FACHE

2014, Robert Devitt CHE

2013, Barbara Hall CHE

2012, K. Dwight Nelson CHE

2011, John King CHE