Mentorship Award

Please note that the awards nomination campaign will launch on October 1, at which time the online nomination form and the nomination template (Section A and B) will become available.

The Award

The Mentorship Award is presented to a leader in the healthcare system who demonstrates exemplary, sustained commitment to mentoring, and inspiring healthcare leadership. The winner will receive an etched glass trophy. Should the future permit us to return to an in-person event, the recipient will also receive paid travel and accommodations to attend the College's Honouring Health Leadership event, and a complimentary registration to the National Health Leadership Conference. In addition, the winner will receive a $2,500 cash prize to be directed to the recipient’s health system foundation of choice, to support education and/or leadership initiatives.

Mentorship is a one-on-one relationship in which one person (the mentor) helps develop another (the mentee or protégé) by sharing wisdom, insight and skills, and creating valuable and multifaceted access to organizational dynamics and processes. [1] The mentor may or may not be employed in the same organization as the protégé or be in the protégé's chain of command or profession. [2]



The nominee must be a member of the College. The successful nominee will be viewed by the profession as a recognized leader who, through dedicated service, has made a substantial contribution to healthcare mentorship within their own organization and/or within the health system. To be considered for this award, the nominee will have demonstrated mentorship skills in the following areas:

  • providing constructive feedback in a professional manner;
  • assisting in building social networking connections within their own organization and/or within the health system;
  • serving as a role model and leader;
  • providing advice with respect to professional development; and
  • creating a positive, trusting relationship amongst professionals to foster personal and professional growth. 

Examples provided should reflect ‘mentorship’, not simply ‘leadership’.

As a testament to their commitment to mentorship, the nominee will have directly or indirectly mentored numerous healthcare leaders, leaving a recognized legacy of inspired leadership. The mentor must also demonstrate an on-going commitment to fostering their own professional development.



Nominations must be made by a member of the College.

We are asking nominators to submit their nomination in two sections. Section A, which is to be submitted via our online form by November 30, is a 250-word summary. The summary should touch on the eligibility criteria and illustrate why you feel that the candidate should win this award. The summaries will be reviewed by the selection committee and a short list of top contenders will be formed. Those on the shortlist will be asked to complete Section B of the nomination. Section B is due on February 1.

[1] Roche/CCHL Mentorship Handbook

[2] Ragins, B. R., & Kram, K. E. (Ed.). (2007). The handbook of mentoring at work: Theory,  research, and practice. Thousand Oaks, California: Sage Publications, Inc.


Selection Committee


Sponsored by:

2020 Recipient: Tom Maston, CHE

Tom Maston CHE

Tom Maston has demonstrated extraordinary commitment, professionalism and effectiveness as both a health leader and a mentor over the course of his 28 years of dedicated public service in New Brunswick. In October 2019, Tom officially retired after serving almost 6 years as Deputy Minister of Health.

With a career spanning various levels and sectors of the health system, Tom’s influence and leadership have had a significant impact on many of those within it. He has served as a positive role model, supporting and inspiring the professional development and leadership capacity of many with whom he worked, both within NB and beyond.

Click here for the full article


Past Recipients

Please see our past recipients listed below. Full biography's are available in our Celebrating Leading Practices booklets.

2020 - Thomas Maston CHE

2019 - David Thompson CHE

2018 - Andrew Neuner CHE

2017 - Katherine Chubbs CHE

2016 - Wolfgang Klassen CHE

2015 - Ron Noble FCCHL FACHE

2014 - Robert Devitt CHE

2013 - Barbara Hall CHE

2012 - K. Dwight Nelson CHE

2011 - John King CHE