Excellence in Patient Safety Award

The Award

This award recognizes individuals and/or teams that are committed to improving patient safety practices within the healthcare environment, through leadership, culture, best practices, innovation and change management expertise. The recipient will receive an etched glass trophy, a cash prize of $1,000, paid travel and accommodations for one individual to attend the College’s Honouring Health Leadership event and a complimentary registration to the National Health Leadership Conference.

The Canadian College of Health Leaders recognizes that different healthcare sectors use different terminology to describe the individuals they serve. While the term “patient” is used for this award, it is considered an all-inclusive concept that includes all types of clients.


Individuals and teams are eligible for this award. To be considered for this award, nominees must demonstrate significant progress, investment, commitment and validation in the area of patient safety. Patient safety programs and initiatives must demonstrate measurable and sustainable results.  Established programs with positive outcomes are welcome to apply.   All submissions must satisfy the following criteria:

  • establishment of a collaborative and interprofessional team approach, that includes engaging senior management, front line clinicians and patients and families;
  • program impact/system benefit;
  • use of leading practices;
  • integration into the business plan /patient safety plan/ organizational quality improvement plan;
  • introduction of new technologies / innovative practices;
  • adoption of a comprehensive approach to program implementation (i.e. process metrics, performance indicators, educational component, benchmarking, system wide implementation, and outcomes);
  • evidence of sustainability (e.g. integration into the business / operational plan) and replicability;
  • evidence that patient safety is improved (include improvement data and sustainability of patient safety);
  • provide examples and show how the spend on the initiative they undertook creates value. 



Nominations must be made by a member of the College and submitted by February 1, 2020.

Nominations must be submitted as one PDF file via the team and organization award online form and include the following:

  • a completed nomination form (to be completed online);
  • a letter of nomination from a member of the College;
  • no more than two letters of support, with one being from the nominee’s chief executive officer or vice-president, who is a member of the College;
  • using the nomination template, outline the above criteria, demonstrate the measures that have resulted in a significant reduction in the number of injuries sustained, trend lines to show the progress, reduction statistics, actual safety records, and number of people impacted; and
  • other considerations the nominator feels may be of interest to the selection committee.

Selection Committee

Sponsored by:


2019 Recipient: Univeristy Health Network

In 2016, University Health Network (UHN) launched Caring Safely, an ambitious initiative to reduce preventable harm, in collaboration with the Hospital for Sick Children. Caring Safely represents UHN’s commitment to reduce preventable harm to zero for patients, caregivers, and staff through an organization-wide transformation to become a High Reliability Organization and Learning Health Organization.

After the first full year of broad implementation, UHN has prevented 239 cases of hospital acquired conditions, which is equivalent to avoided costs of $2.6 million and 1,250 avoided additional bed days. By preventing these 239 cases, UHN was able to treat 195 additional patients. Click here for the full article


Past Recipients

Please see our most recent recipients listed below. Full biography's are available in our Celebrating Leading Practices booklets.

2018, Providence Health Care

2017, Niagara Health

2016, Baycrest

2015, Mount Sinai Hospital

2014, BC Cancer Agency (BCCA) & Vancouver General Hospital 

2013, Mackenzie Health 

2012, The Credit Valley Hospital and Trillium Health Centre 

2011, The Wexford Residence