CCHL Announces Changes to the National Awards Program

September 25, 2023

The Canadian College of Health Leaders is pleased to announce a few modifications to its National Awards Program. As part of the regular annual review by the various award selection committees, a few recommendations were endorsed by the National Awards Advisory Committee and the CCHL Board of Directors. These changes are in effect for the 2024 campaign.

CCHL and 3M are looking to reward disruptive innovation in healthcare

The 3M Awards’ focus will shift from quality improvement to disruptive innovation, highlighting cutting edge system transformation and outcomes, diverse population, and sustainability of change. The updated title of the awards will be the 3M Health Care Innovation Team Awards. These awards will continue to be presented in two categories, which have been updated to: Disruptive innovation initiative(s) within an organization, and Disruptive innovation initiative(s) across a health system.

Changes and updates were made to the award criteria that include removing the minimum of 18 months of evidence of sustainability and focused instead on addressing long-term social and environmental needs to the organization/system.

Sponsored by: 3M Canada

Recognizing inclusion, diversity, equity and accessibility

The Excellence in Diversity and Inclusion Award selection committee brought forward some proposed modifications to the award name and suggested that we consult with experts in this area to ensure these proposed changes were inclusive of all populations. The College met with the Canadian Centre for Diversity and Inclusion (CCDI), received valuable feedback, and has incorporated their suggestions to the award criteria and template. This award has been renamed the Excellence in Inclusion, Diversity, Equity and Accessibility Award.

Sponsored by: Sodexo

Updates to CCHL Distinguished Leadership Award

The CCHL Distinguished Leadership Award is reviewed on a regular basis by its award selection committee, the Executive Committee of the CCHL Board, to ensure the award description, eligibility and criteria properly reflect the intention of this College premier award. A few modifications were made, and the final template can be seen online.

Sponsored by: GE HealthCare

The National Awards Program boasts 16 awards honouring leaders in healthcare, including senior executives, emerging leaders, administrative and operational teams, nurses, students and more. The call for nominations opens October 1. The deadline for nominations for the individual awards is November 30, 2023. The deadline for nominations for the team & organisation awards, the CCHL Distinguished Leadership Award and the Chapter awards is February 1, 2024.

For more information on the nomination process for all of the CCHL awards, please consult: