Northwestern Ontario Chapter hosts their first event – Speed Mentoring

February 19, 2020

On January 30, 2020, in Thunder Bay a working group made up of members from the Northwestern Ontario Chapter hosted their first event, bringing together emerging and experienced leaders in a casual ‘speed mentoring’ event. The chapter is appreciative of the seven mentors who came out to show their support for health leadership and the College.

The more than 35 attendees were among the first from the country to view the College’s 50th Anniversary video highlighting how we are proud of our past, confident in the present and excited for the future. There was significant buzz in the room both regarding the legacy of the College and how the Northwestern Ontario Chapter can continue this momentum with future similar events. National office staff, Amy O’Brien, Manager, Chapter and Member Engagement was proud to be in the room on this momentous occasion and grateful to the volunteers for their hard work and dedication to improving value for members in the Northwestern Ontario Chapter.

“The CCHL event was a positive and engaging event that showcased the different paths and approaches to leadership in health care. It was refreshing to connect with colleagues and mentors in a relaxing and friendly environment.” Brianne Wood: Postdoctoral Researcher at Northern Ontario School of Medicine

Amanda Bjorn, EVP, People, Culture and Strategy, Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre.

“Being a mentor provides an opportunity to spark excitement and learning in others. In addition to this outcome, I found that I was inspired by the insightful questions I was asked during the Speed Mentoring event of the NWO CCHL chapter. Engaging with a group of vibrant young leaders fueled my passion and helped me learn more about what leadership means to me at this stage of my career. I can’t wait for the next opportunity to engage with other health care leaders in NWO.”

The Chapter will be hosting an Annual General Meeting on May 28, 2020 (more details to follow) and will be sending out a call for nominations to chapter members to formally organize a local executive. The Chapter will continue promoting the College and provide networking and educational opportunities for College members and health leaders in the region.

Working Group:

James Anderson, Family Health Team Manager, Dilico Anishinabek Family Care

Jessica Logozzo, EVP, Regional Transformation and Integration

Caroline, Buonocore, Health Quality Ontario

Darcy McWhirter, Manager, Crisis and Outreach Programs, St. Joseph’s Care Group

Guest Mentors:

Alice Bellevance – CEO of BISNO

Amanda Bjorn – EVP, People, Culture & Strategy at TBRHSC

Elaine Wiersma – Director of the CERAH at Lakehead University

Keith Taylor – Chair, Patient Family Advisory Council at TBRHSC

Michael Power – Chief Business Development Officer at VieCure

Shane Strickland – Dean, School of Health, Negahneewin & Community Services at Confederation CollegeDoug Moynihan – Retired President and CEO of Atikokan General Hospital.