Marianne Walker, CHE, appointed Chair of CCHL Board of Directors

September 16, 2020

The Canadian College of Health Leaders is pleased to announce the appointment of Marianne Walker, CHE, as the new Chair of the Board of Directors for a two-year term 2020 – 2022. Marianne assumed the role at the conclusion of the September 16 Annual General Meeting, which was held virtually. Marianne joined the board in 2017 as Ontario Co-Director and became Vice-Chair in 2018. She now replaces outgoing Chair, Feisal Keshavjee, CHE, who completed his 2-year mandate.

In leadership roles spanning more than 30 years, including her current role as President and CEO of Guelph General Hospital, Marianne has worked to refocus health care on the patient. She has led several region- and province-wide initiatives that have dramatically improved patient outcomes after stroke, and her elder care strategy is recognized as one of the best practice model province-wide. As a surveyor with Accreditation Canada, Marianne is also helping to improve health care quality and patient safety across the country and internationally in countries including Brazil.

Feisal Keshavjee, CHE, will stay on the Board as Past Chair for a period of one year. Feisal joined the Board of Directors in 2012, initially as Alberta Director for two terms, then was appointed Vice-Chair, and now completes his term as Board Chair. The Board of Directors wishes to express their sincere appreciation to Feisal for his years of dedication and commitment to the College.

Brenda Rebman, CHE, Alberta Director, has been appointed as Vice-Chair of the Board of Directors for a two-year term (2020-2022).

The Board of Directors is pleased to welcome Major General Marc Bilodeau, CHE, as the Canadian Armed Forces Director on the Board for an initial three-year term (2020-2023), replacing Colonel Steve Plourde, CHE, who has completed his term.

The Board of Directors also wishes to express their appreciation to Directors, Karen Mumford, CHE, Nova Scotia Director and Andrew McDougall, CHE, Prince Edward Island Director, who have completed their terms on the Board. Andrew McDougall remains on the College Audit & Finance committee as member-at-large.

Board members Marie-Suzanne Lavallée, CHE, Quebec Director and Stephen Jackson, CHE Northwest Territories/Nunavut/Yukon Director, have completed their terms as Directors but will remain associated with the Board as Special Advisors until December 31, 2020.

The College’s Board of Directors is comprised of respected senior health leaders with diverse backgrounds and from across the continuum of care. All volunteer their time to help guide the College’s staff by setting policy and making pivotal decisions. Their dedication has helped to make the College the professional association of choice for Canada’s health leaders.

Click here to see the complete list of board members.