Celebrating the Human Spirit Award

Please note that the awards nomination campaign will launch on October 1, at which time the online nomination form and the nomination template will become available.

The Award

This award recognizes and honours the meaningful contributions of individuals or teams, who provide health services, for acts of caring and compassion that go above and beyond the call of duty, which inspire others and have a profound and lasting impact. This can be interpreted broadly to include any act that improves an individual patient’s health and/or spirit, the lives of the patient’s family and/or the community. This award is a vehicle to share their stories with colleagues from across Canada and to help inspire others.

The winner will receive an etched glass trophy. Should the future permit us to return to an in-person event, the recipient will also receive paid travel and accommodations to attend the College’s Honouring Health Leadership event, and receive a complimentary registration to the CCHL National Conference.


This award is open to all Canadian healthcare professionals, leaders, teams and volunteers who have had a marked impact on quality of life and safety for patients, their family or the community. This award is open to College members and non-members alike. Programs, stand-alone acts and special initiatives from across the continuum of care are eligible for consideration. Nominations will also be evaluated on the opportunities for knowledge transfer, scalability and applicability to other organizations.


Nominations must be made by a member of the College.

We are asking nominators to submit their nomination in two sections. Section A, which is to be submitted by November 30, is a 250 word summary. The summary should touch on the eligibility criteria and illustrate why you feel that the nominee should win this award. The summaries will be reviewed by the selection committee and a short list of top contenders will be formed. Those on the shortlist will be asked to complete Section B of the nomination. This section is due on February 1.

Sponsored by:

2022 Recipient: Safehaven

For over thirty years, Safehaven has provided exceptional care to, and advocated for, the rights and quality of life of youth and adults with developmental disabilities through leading medical care and non-institutional recreational programming.

Over the past year, Safehaven has gone above and beyond its mandate to support the developmental services sector and broader community. As the Toronto Region’s Infection Prevention and Control (IPAC) Collaborative Lead, Safehaven has led 70+ agencies and over 600+ sites in the community, developmental services, Indigenous, youth justice, violence against women, and anti-human trafficking sectors to provide IPAC education and supports, including mask-fit testing, vaccines, rapid antigen testing, and outbreak management.

Safehaven has been recognized provincially and nationally for this exceptional work, with CEO Susan Bisaillon named to the City of Toronto COVID-19 Vaccine Accessibility Task Force and the Provincial Network for Vaccine Access in Ontario.

Past Recipients

Please see our most recent recipients listed below. Full details are available in our Celebrating Leading Practices booklets.

2022 – Safehaven

2021 – Shaila Jiwa

2020 – Maryann Murray and Sandi Kossey, CHE

2019 – Elder Little Brown Bear (Ernest W. Matton)

2018 – Dr. Jeff Beselt

2017 – Bruyère Continuing Care

2016 – Ontario Shores

2015 – Saint Elizabeth Health

2014 – Carol Kushner and Donna Davis, Patients for Patient Safety Canada

2013 – Guysborough Antigonish Strait Health Authority, Park Bench Players

2012 – Vancouver Inner City Youth Mental Health Program, Providence Health Care

2011 – Dan McGann, Credit Valley Hospital

Celebrating the Human Spirit Award Selection Committee

List of Awards

For almost two decades, the National Awards Program has been showcasing the success of exemplary individuals and teams, encouraging knowledge exchange, and celebrating excellence while stimulating replication of leading practices across the health industry.