Robert Zed Young Health Leader Award

The awards nomination campaign will launch on October 1, at which time the online nomination form and the nomination template will become available.

The Award

The Robert Zed Young Health Leader Award is presented to a Canadian healthcare leader who has demonstrated leadership in the effectiveness and sustainability of Canada’s health system. The winner will receive an etched glass trophy. Should the future permit us to return to an in-person event, the recipient will also receive paid travel and accommodations to attend the College’s Honouring Health Leadership event, and a complimentary registration to the CCHL National Conference.


Nominations are invited for leaders, age 40 or younger and must satisfy the following criteria:

  • be a member of the College, and must be a CHE or a CHE candidate;
  • has, in the last 5-10 years, shown leadership growth and advancement in their healthcare career;
  • demonstrates potential for senior healthcare leadership positions in the future, in any area of health services, including public health, health prevention, health promotion, acute care, long term care, rehabilitation, mental health and drug dependency services, national, provincial or local health organizations, health charities, private sector health organizations or any related area; and
  • has demonstrated outstanding vision and leadership through a project, program, publication, community involvement, philanthropy, or other activity that has resulted in measurable improvements within their organization and/or within the health system.


Nominations must be made by a member of the College.

We are asking nominators to submit their nomination in two sections. Section A, which is to be submitted by November 30, is a 250 word summary. The summary should touch on the eligibility criteria and illustrate why you feel that the nominee should win this award. The summaries will be reviewed by the selection committee and a short list of top contenders will be formed. Those on the shortlist will be asked to complete Section B of the nomination. This section is due on February 1.

2023 Recipient: Dr. Kevin Wasko

With a solid clinical background, extensive understanding of Canadian healthcare, strategic vision, and political acumen, Dr. Kevin Wasko draws upon diverse experience to lead large-scale change through collaborative cross-sectoral partnerships. Kevin has been a system leader, mentor, clinical expert, and advocate since the formation of the Saskatchewan Health Authority and through the pandemic response. 

In 2017, Dr. Wasko co-led physician engagement and developed a provincial medical structure as a member of Saskatchewan’s Transition Team on Health System Restructuring. He championed the Dyad Model and co-led clinical operations across rural Saskatchewan in a Dyad Model with his Vice President partner. He promoted interdisciplinary team-based care through the creation of Health Networks and co-sponsored the immunization campaign and co-chaired the Clinical Expert Advisory Committee during the pandemic. 

Dr. Kevin Wasko served in the Provincial Emergency Operations Centre in the fall of 2021, leading a system-wide response to Saskatchewan’s 4th largest wave. He is committed to continuous growth and learning, serving as a surveyor for Accreditation Canada, a public policy fellow, and enrolled in the LEADS Leadership Foundations program through the CCHL. He had returned to full-time emergency medicine at Trillium Health Partners in Mississauga to gain clinical experience in a large urban setting. 

Past Recipients

Please see our most recent recipients listed below. Full details are available in our Celebrating Leading Practices booklets.

2023 – Dr. Kevin Wasko

2022 – Jennifer Quaglietta CHE

2021 – Samantha Hodder CHE

2020 – Mehdi Somji CHE

2019 – Nicholas Mitchell

2018 – Carrie Jeffreys CHE

2017 – Lindsay Peach CHE

2016 – Jeremy Stevenson

2015 – Reece Bearnes CHE

2014 – Sarah Padfield CHE

2013 – Amy Porteous

2012 – Jennifer Duff

2011 – Emily Gruenwoldt Carkner

Robert Zed Young Health Leader Award Selection Committee

List of Awards

For almost two decades, the National Awards Program has been showcasing the success of exemplary individuals and teams, encouraging knowledge exchange, and celebrating excellence while stimulating replication of leading practices across the health industry.