Mentorship Award

Please note that the awards nomination campaign will launch on October 1, at which time the online nomination form and the nomination template (Section A and B) will become available

The Award

The Mentorship Award is presented to a leader in the healthcare system who demonstrates exemplary, sustained commitment to mentoring, and inspiring healthcare leadership. The winner will receive an etched glass trophy. Should the future permit us to return to an in-person event, the recipient will also receive paid travel and accommodations to attend the College’s Honouring Health Leadership event, and a complimentary registration to the CCHL National Conference. In addition, the winner will receive a $2,500 cash prize to be directed to the recipient’s health system foundation of choice, to support education and/or leadership initiatives.

Mentorship is a one-on-one relationship in which one person (the mentor) helps develop another (the mentee or protégé) by sharing wisdom, insight and skills, and creating valuable and multifaceted access to organizational dynamics and processes. [1] The mentor may or may not be employed in the same organization as the protégé or be in the protégé’s chain of command or profession. [2]

[1] Roche/CCHL Mentorship Handbook
[2] Ragins, B. R., & Kram, K. E. (Ed.). (2007). The handbook of mentoring at work: Theory, research, and practice. Thousand Oaks, California: Sage Publications, Inc.


The nominee must be a member of the College. The successful nominee will be viewed by the profession as a recognized leader who, through dedicated service, has made a substantial contribution to healthcare mentorship within their own organization and/or within the health system. To be considered for this award, the nominee will have demonstrated mentorship skills in the following areas:

  • providing constructive feedback in a professional manner;
  • assisting in building social networking connections within their own organization and/or within the health system;
  • serving as a role model and leader;
  • providing advice with respect to professional development; and
  • creating a positive, trusting relationship amongst professionals to foster personal and professional growth.

Examples provided should reflect ‘mentorship’, not simply ‘leadership’.

As a testament to their commitment to mentorship, the nominee will have directly or indirectly mentored numerous healthcare leaders, leaving a recognized legacy of inspired leadership. The mentor must also demonstrate an on-going commitment to fostering their own professional development.


Nominations must be made by a member of the College.

We are asking nominators to submit their nomination in two sections. Section A, which is to be submitted by November 30, is a 250 word summary. The summary should touch on the eligibility criteria and illustrate why you feel that the nominee should win this award. The summaries will be reviewed by the selection committee and a short list of top contenders will be formed. Those on the shortlist will be asked to complete Section B of the nomination. This section is due on February 1.

Sponsored by:


2022 Recipient: Safehaven

Christina Denysek’s commitment to mentorship has been long-standing, has been both formal and informal, and has involved those that report to her as well as other emerging leaders. Christina entered a leadership role a young age herself and has stated that fostering young leaders through mentorship has been a passion of hers throughout her career.

One of Christina’s mentees notes, “Christina has been an integral part in my leadership journey, and I know I wouldn’t be the leader I am now if I didn’t have her support and coaching.” Another states, “Over the last 3 years, Christina has mentored me as well as many others. She is the person I count on to help guide and teach me new and efficient approaches to leadership within my own team. I would not be the leader I am today without her engagement, mentorship, leadership and support.”

Past Recipients

Please see our most recent recipients listed below. Full details are available in our Celebrating Leading Practices booklets.

2022 – Christina Denysek CHE

2021 – Jeanette Edwards CHE

2020 – Thomas Maston CHE

2019 – David Thompson CHE

2018 – Andrew Neuner CHE

2017 – Katherine Chubbs CHE

2016 – Wolfgang Klassen CHE

2015 – Ron Noble FCCHL FACHE

2014 – Robert Devitt CHE

2013 – Barbara Hall CHE

2012 – K. Dwight Nelson CHE

2011 – John King CHE

Mentorship Award Selection Committee

List of Awards

For almost two decades, the National Awards Program has been showcasing the success of exemplary individuals and teams, encouraging knowledge exchange, and celebrating excellence while stimulating replication of leading practices across the health industry.