Robert Zed Young Health Leader Award

The Award

The Robert Zed Young Health Leader Award is presented to a Canadian healthcare leader who has demonstrated leadership in the effectiveness and sustainability of Canada’s health system. The winner will receive an etched glass trophy, paid travel and accommodations to attend the College’s Honouring Health Leadership event and a complimentary registration to the National Health Leadership Conference.



Nominations are invited for leaders, age 40 or younger and must satisfy the following criteria:

  • be a member of the College;
  • has, in the last 5-10 years, shown leadership growth and advancement in their healthcare career;
  • demonstrates potential for senior healthcare leadership positions in the future, in any area of health services, including public health, health prevention, health promotion, acute care, long term care, rehabilitation, mental health and drug dependency services, national, provincial or local health organizations, health charities, private sector health organizations or any related area; and
  • has demonstrated outstanding vision and leadership through a project, program, publication, community involvement, philanthropy, or other activity that has resulted in measurable improvements within their organization and/or within the health system.



Nominations must be made by a member or a chapter.

We are asking nominators to submit their nomination in two sections. Section A, which is to be submitted via our online form by November 30, 2019, is a 250-word summary. The summary should touch on the eligibility criteria and illustrate why you feel that the candidate should win this award. The summaries will be reviewed by the selection committee and a short list of top contenders will be formed. Those on the shortlist will be asked to complete Section B of the nomination, found below. Section B is due on February 1, 2020.

Selection Committee

Sponsored by:

2019 Recipient: Dr. Nicholas Mitchell 

Since taking an academic role with the University of Alberta as an Assistant Professor in 2012, he has demonstrated tremendous growth as a leader in healthcare and has had a remarkable impact. He has demonstrated outstanding vision and leadership through his current positions which have resulted in robust improvements within Alberta Health Services.

Dr. Mitchell is a self-motivated leader - keenly self-aware, working diligently to not only manage himself, but also to further develop himself and his skills. As a leader he models key characteristics like honesty, integrity, and confidence. Most critical in times of challenge and uncertainty, he demonstrates resilience and encourages it in others. Dr. Mitchell is a much sought-after expert by many, including patients and families, providers, researchers, governments, administrators and industry. Click here for the full article


Past Recipients

Please see our past recipients listed below. Full biography's are available in our Celebrating Leading Practices booklets.

2018, Carrie Jeffreys CHE

2017, Lindsay Peach CHE

2016, Jeremy Stevenson

2015, Reece Bearnes CHE

2014, Sarah Padfield CHE

2013, Amy Porteous

2012, Jennifer Duff

2011, Emily Gruenwoldt Carkner